Skip to content

Inauguration of the US-Korea Institute

A Photo for the Memory Book Christopher R.Hill, Assistant Secretary of State for East Asian and Pacific Affairs (center) joins Ambassador Alexander Vershbow (left) and five former U.S. ambassadors to the Republic of Korea in inaugurating the Institute on October 4. Those pictured and their dates of service in Seoul are (right to left), James R. Lilley (1986-1988); Donald Gregg (1989-1993), James T. Laney (1997-1997l); Hill, who served briefly as U.S. ambassador to the ROK in early 2005; Stephen W. Bosworth (1997-2001); Thomas C. Hubbard (2001-2005); and Vershbow, who has served as ambassador in Seoul since October 2005.

Related materials from the Inauguration event

video of Assistant Secretary Christopher R. Hill’s speech (windows media)

Transcript of Assistant Secretary Hill’s speech (PDF)

video of the panel and to read remarks made by former Ambassadors of the United States to the Republic of Korea on the future of the Korean Peninsula (windows media)

Lee Tae-shik (pictured at left), Republic of Korea Ambassador to the United States, made a congratulatory address to inaugurate the Institute. Watch a video of Ambassador Lee’s remarks (windows media), or read the transcript of his remarks (PDF).

The Inauguration in the News

Induction of New Korea Institute at SAIS Comes Amid North Korea’s Nuclear Test” in Diplomatic Pouch.